Ramblings of this guy you know!

Tech Stuff and random observations on life as I see it….

Raspberry Pi – A good idea, but does it come too late?

Back in May! The BBC reported on it and their technology programme Click! Followed up on it in June. It was suggested that the RaspberryPi, a £15 computer on a stick could provide the same home computing revolution that was kick started off in the eighties with the BBC Micro, Sinclair Spectrum, Commodore 64 and other similar machines. I posted an article a short while later when the Alpha production schedule was announced.

Now if we fast forward to more recently we are once again hearing about it again: In December 2011 there was an announcement that the first batch of devices were nearly ready for release. Now in January 2012 several early test devices have been auctioned on EBay for £3,000 so there is interest in them.

However, I cannot help but think that this very good idea may have come along too late. I can see the use of them in Schools during the day but as I see it the main problem that I see is the reliance on external devices outside the school environment. As I write this, I am sitting with my iPad in front of the TV which is on. In other words I can both watch TV and do work at the same time. With the advent of ideas like CodeAcademy, a safe programming environment is presented to a student on the device in front of them and there is no need to plug into anything. I personally think that this is a better way forward even if the RapBerryPi is a very portable device.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 376 other followers

