Ramblings of this guy you know!

Tech Stuff and random observations on life as I see it….

ITerm2, an alternative terminal app for Mac OSX

Image courtesy of iTerm2 website

I stumbled across this very nice Mac OSX terminal replacement while browsing through the Lifehacker site.
At first glance it might look unimpressive but under the hood, this app has a lot of really nice features that finally gives me that Putty like terminal app that I have been looking for since I switched over from Windows. If you spend a lot of time at the command line and you don’t want to spend out for one, this terminal app is worth looking at.

iTerm2 is still in Beta at the moment but I have had no issues with it and have started using it regularly. The application comes with a long list of documented features listed below:

  • Split Panes
  • Hotkey Window
  • Search
  • Autocomplete
  • Mouseless Copy
  • Paste History
  • Instant Replay
  • Configurability
  • Full Screen
  • 256 Colors
  • Unixyness
  • Readability
  • Mouse Reporting
  • Growl Support
  • Exposé Tabs
  • Tagged Profiles
  • Multi-Lingual

The Tagged Profiles mentioned above was the feature that drew me in from the start. You can, at startup ask iTerm2 to default to a list of servers you want to connect to. It can even scan your network for ssh and bonjour connected devices and auto produce that list. Very helpful if you are administering a bunch of servers and desktop.

Split Panes and Full Screen are two other great features I have made use of already. The first is great if you are working between two (or more) servers at once and the Full Screen just makes sure that nothing else is going to distract you while you get this bit of work done.

I am pretty sure that as I get more adept and familiar with it, I’ll start using the other features too; the search and autocomplete I can see me working with and the instant replay feature i can see a use for. This is definitely my new Terminal app.

One response to “ITerm2, an alternative terminal app for Mac OSX

  1. Pingback: Recent Tech articles – 6th-12th June « Ramblings of this guy you know!

Leave a Reply

